wcdhb banner
News and Media Releases

Media Releases Archive

Introducing This Page

This section contains media releases released a little while ago. Please note that due to the long time when some of these were released images have been removed and some links might no longer work.

December 03, 2010

West Coast District Health Board Chair

West Coast District Health Board's current deputy chair Dr Paul McCormack will next week take up his seat as the new chair of the board.

Dr McCormack says he will continue to advocate to West Coasters their need to lead West Coast health solutions.

Dr McCormack has an extensive background in clinical practice, management and governance. He has 30 years experience in General Practice and was Managing Director of Pegasus Health from 2003 to 2008.

"I am very pleased with the work that's been done by the previous board and managers. Huge strides have been made between Canterbury and the West Coast in terms of collaboration. I am of the same view as West Coast DHB chief executive David Meates that West Coast health solutions need to come from West Coasters."

Dr McCormack endorsed the excellent work outgoing WCDHB chair Rex Williams has done over the past three years. "Under Rex's leadership, the board has developed a good understanding of the pressure points in the health system and of the opportunities available to it."

Dr McCormack also would like to acknowledge he has been appointed at a time when Coasters are dealing with one of their worst mining disasters, at the Pike River Coal mine, near Greymouth.

"The West Coast DHB has responded well to the disaster and appreciates the support it has received. My thoughts are with the families and friends of the 29 men as well as the grieving West Coast community."

As well as Dr McCormack, the other ministerial appointed members of the West Coast DHB for the term beginning on 6 December, 2010 are:

  • Mr Peter Ballantyne, who will be deputy chair
  • Mr Warren Gilbertson, who is reappointed, and
  • Miss Susan Wallace, who is also reappointed.

They will join elected members:

  • Kevin Brown
  • Sharon Pugh
  • Douglas Truman
  • John Vaile
  • Elinor Stratford
  • Helen Gillespie
  • Mary Molloy



For further information please contact
West Coast DHB Media Liaison Amy Milne
on (03) 364 4122,
This is not a link as we want to prevent spam.  Please transfer the email address on the image carefully into your email client before sending the email.  You might find, with some older email addresses on this site that they are no longer current, for staff-change reasons.  If your email bounces back please contact the WCDHB Communications Team - see Contacts section of this site.

Back to the Media Releases Archive